2024 Archive - page 2

Wednesday, March 20, 2024

If you ever needed a literal demonstration of the phrase, “The map is not the territory,” Winnebago county's Rustic Roads are it.

read more …

Friday, March 15, 2024

My table saw is one of the most important tools in my shop. That makes it a little surprising that, until now, the accessories that I use with it have been, at best, hung on a nail or screw sticking out of the wall nearby.

read more …

Wednesday, March 13, 2024

Just in case you were getting nervous about two videos in a row with completely paved Rustic Roads, this week I take you to Adams county, for two completely unpaved.

read more …

Wednesday, March 6, 2024

It turned out to be a great introductory, get-comfortable-on-the-bike ride. Nothing really technical, and good visibility (at least at that time of year).

read more …

Wednesday, February 28, 2024

Dunn county's Rustic Roads each come in two parts.

read more …

Friday, February 23, 2024

But that's silly. I'm a computer professional. It's just bytes. The articles are on there somewhere. And so began a game. Could I figure out how the Flash apps were loading and displaying the data for these issues, and recover it for my own use?

read more …

Wednesday, February 21, 2024

Rustic Road 122 is short - just 2.6 miles. But it's a nice, smooth, flowing ride.

read more …

Wednesday, February 14, 2024

The challenge of R51 comes from the Pine Creek, which it crosses four times. No, it doesn't cross over, it crosses through.

read more …

Wednesday, February 7, 2024

I have a surprise for you today: the Suzuki V-Strom! I thought it would be fun to put a ride on each bike in the same video. In this post, I'll talk about how the two bikes compare.

read more …

Wednesday, January 31, 2024

This road was just surprise after surprise for me. It starts out with flat, straight pavement passing by corn fields. Then it suddenly turns into narrow, hilly, twisty, sandy gravel path.

read more …